Skip to content

Craft & Quilt Fair Haul

July 12, 2014

On Thursday I went to the Sydney Craft and Quilt Fair at the new Sydney Exhibition Centre at Glebe Island.  It was a nice venue, filled with lots of natural lighting and was easy to get to by ferry from Darling Harbour. It was a nice ferry trip there and back, taking in some views of Sydney Harbour.

Sydney harbour View of the bridge in the morning.

Sydney harbour The view of the lovely sunset from the ferry.

I picked up some craft goodies from the array of retailers there. There is a good mix of retailers there, but there was probably more quilting booths than any other craft. Plus there are all the major sewing machine brands there, so if you are in the market for a new sewing, embroidery quilting machine or overlocker, there are some good deals to be found. Plus you get to play test the machine before committing to purchasing one! I came very close to buying a new overlocker.

Here is my haul from the day:

Craft fair haul

I picked up goodies from Be Be Bold, Indigo Niche, Scissorman and Craft Into Cash.  All of the retailers there are very helpful.

 

One of the crafts I was interested in picking up something for is Sashiko – a Japanese embroidery technique. I picked up a table runner kit and some stitch samplers to try out. I’ve started one of the stitch samplers since Thursday. It was very easy to pick up, even if the instructions are in Japanese! There was clear diagrams and if you have had any experience with embroidery you should be able to figure it out along the way. The best thing is, the pattern is already printed on the fabric, so you just need to stitch along and then wash out any pattern markings you don’t want to stitch!

Craft fair haul

I’m thinking I will either turn this samplers into a cushion cover or a place mat once finished. I will wait and see which one I think will be better once I finish this sampler and the other two I picked up.

Overall, it was a great day and well worth a visit!

 

Happy crafting 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

