Skip to content

A little about my weightloss journey . . .

October 3, 2013

So, I need to lose weight. For too long I’ve been blind to how much weight I’ve put on over the years through putting work and other things ahead of my health. Well, not any more. 

 

Earlier this year, I joined a gym. This isn’t something particularly new for me. I’ve had a gym membership before. It was around the time I finished high school and I had a lot more time on my hands and not as much weight to lose. I was also a lot fitter than what I am now. To start off I went fairly frequently, but it eventually tapered down till I stopped going. Looking back, there are a few reasons I didn’t stay committed to the gym. I was paying pretty much next to nothing for my membership, so if I didn’t go, I shrugged it off as only losing a couple of dollars. I also didn’t structure my workouts – yes, they had a program for beginners to follow, but I didn’t enjoy a lot of the exercises so I either skipped them, or substituted them. And lastly, I wasn’t as motivated to lose weight and tone up as I am now. 

 

So come to today. I’ve been a member of the gym for around 3 months now. I go on average twice a week (I’m aiming to up that to 3 times a week). When I go to the gym I do the same cardio, but vary the weights and try to focus on a variety of muscle groups (no, I don’t have legs days etc). I try to do something for my legs, something for my arms/shoulders and something for my abs.  Sometimes I will just do cardio if I’m running low on time. If I’m just doing cardio, I aim for at least 30minutes (including 5 mins warm up and 5 mins cool down) and try to aim to burn 120 total calories. I’ve just bought a heart rate monitor to try and help track more accurately the number of calories I burn during my workouts, but haven’t used it yet. I plan to go to the gym tomorrow to test it out. 

 

When I started this journey, I was at my highest weight (89kgs – yikes!). I can remember times in recent years where I told myself not to let myself get above 70 kilos, then it became 80 kilos. At least I’m slowly getting my weight down. I’m now at 85.9kg (3.1kg down). I’m hoping to get down to 80kg by then end of the year. 

 

I’ve also been using MyFitnessPal to help keep track of the amount of calories I eat each day. This is one area I know I need to get better at, but I’d rather make small changes that I can sustain in the long run, than make more drastic changes that I’d only be able to sustain in the short run. But don’t they say “slow and steady wins the race”? My progress may be slow, hopefully it will be steady, but in the end, I will get there! I will be healthier, fitter, slimmer, more confident and happier. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

